The Board

The Board establishes and maintains the Utilities Disputes office. The five member Board is made up of an independent chair, two independent directors, one industry director, and one consumer director, following advice to the relevant Minister.

Heather Roy

Independent Chair

Heather has served on the Board since 2014. She was a Member of Parliament for 2002 – 2011. As Minister of Consumer Affairs (2008-10) she was involved in consumer law reform and the approval of EGCC as the regulated scheme for the electricity and gas sectors.

Nicky Darlow

Independent Director

Nicky has a background in community development, consultation and dispute resolution. She has been a lay member and consumer representative on a variety of boards and panels.


Dr. Brian McCulloch

Independent Director

Brian has a portfolio of consulting roles and is an independent member of the Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal. He held a wide variety of leadership roles across a range of portfolios in The Treasury for over 25 years, including as a member of the Senior Leadership Team.

Major Campbell Roberts

Director (Consumer)

Campbell is the Founding National Director of Social Policy for The Salvation Army in New Zealand, Fiji and Tonga. He has been a member of various government task forces, boards, working parties, and local government forums around a range of social issues and policies affecting New Zealand life.  He was nominated New Zealander of the Year (one of three nominees) in 2017.

Greg Skelton

Director (Industry)

Greg has been the Chief Executive of Wellington Electricity since April 2009. Prior to his appointment as Chief Executive, Greg was the Chief Executive of Alpine Energy Limited and has held various senior management roles in the electricity industry. Greg has 30 years of experience in the fields of production engineering, electrical engineering and business management.