Our people

Nanette Moreau


Nanette Moreau (BCom, trained Mediator, LLB, Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand) joined Utilities Disputes Ltd, formerly known as the Office of the Electricity and Gas Complaints Commissioner (EGCC), in April 2002. Nanette was appointed Commissioner in March 2016.

Before joining the office, she worked with Harkness Henry in Hamilton as a consultant to the litigation and dispute resolution team and prior to that with Phillips Fox, Auckland. As a Management Consultant with Ernst and Young, Nanette was involved in the reform of the local government and the electricity industry in the early 1990s. In Canada, she held senior executive positions in the private and public sectors.

Jerome Chapman

Deputy Commissioner

As a conciliator and team manager between 2004 and 2016, Jerome has investigated, conciliated and resolved hundreds of complaints. In 2011 Jerome completed his professional legal studies and was admitted as a barrister and solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand.

Prior to his appointment as Deputy Commissioner, Jerome had acted in the Deputy Commissioner role on a number of occasions since 2013. Jerome has been a Resolution Institute accredited mediator since 2011.  He has been a public member of the Advertising Standards Complaints Board since March 2014.

The breadth and complexity of the cases Jerome has handled gives him specialist knowledge in a number of areas. The Electricity Authority and Commerce Commission have routinely sought Jerome’s advice on lines equipment ownership and other industry topics. He speaks regularly at industry gatherings.

The Energy Complaints Scheme Member Committee

The Energy Complaints Scheme Member Committee consists of three members from retail providers and three members from lines providers. The Committee provides the Board with a view on the proposed budget, and with any other advice or recommendations the Board requests.

  • Meridian (Jason Woolley, Chair)
  • Contact Energy (Melanie Buckley)
  • Meridian (Danny Wilson)
  • Electra (Neil Simmonds)
  • PowerNet (Alaister Marshall)
  • Vector (Andrea Robertson)